Oh, the places you’ll go…

I have two questions:

What do people do most times when they travel?

When people travel, how long does that person usually dedicate to any specific place?

Now that I’ve asked these questions, I’m not necessarily going to answer them, because I honestly don’t know the answer to that question. (I just wanted to throw those out there… Feel free to put in your two cents.) I have however, gained some insight and experience and I have come to a consensus on what I feel is the best way to travel (but of course, based on certain criteria).

Anyway, what I feel most people do when they decide to travel (after deciding the location) is to visit the locations that their particular destination is famous for. Which is great, because those things are usually famous for a reason. I have had many opportunities to do those things myself BUT, what I am more thankful for is the amount of time I have had in my own particular location of Kagawa. Even more specifically Takamatsu, and even MORE specifically, Yashima!

Now, it occurred to me that someone coming to Japan is hardly likely to make this part of Japan but the longer I stay here, the more thankful I am that this is where I landed. The unfortunate reality of travelling is that for the vast majority of people, it is allowed to them on only rare occasions. With such restrictions, there are often times very high expectations and a limited amount of time and because of that, the traveler probably doesn’t leave a lot of his/her trip up to chance. Which is unfortunate because from my experience, many of the best places I have found have been because I have the opportunity to leave things up to chance. When you let yourself get taken away, there is no telling where you might end up…

 ImageImageImageImageImage

Those were from what we were expecting to be an uneventful ride around the mountain… Actually, that’s wrong. I didn’t know what we were going to find, but I had an idea something cool lay close by, especially when we saw a dirt road leading off the main one. Of course we followed it!

These next ones are from a solo exploration that was derived from a run. I still haven’t fully explored the villages and foothills of Yashima Mountain!

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

And so, at this point I could drop one of my favorite Robert Frost quotes about least-traveled-paths and whatnot, but right now I don’t think it’d be appropriate because I advocate taking both, especially since you don’t know where either will lead!

5 thoughts on “Oh, the places you’ll go…

  1. Wow, I’ve never been to the northern tip of Yashima (it’s been a goal for a while, but I’m waiting for warmer days to go – also, i rarely go to the area).
    Apart from that, you’re right, I think it’s a shame that nowadays most people will travel only to destinations that are famous, that they “know”, that’s they’ve seen many times on books, TV, the web etc.

    For me traveling has always been going to the unknown. I have little to no interest for most of the world famous landmarks, and I strongly believe that it is the small unknown places like Kagawa that make it worth to travel

    • Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Seems like they align fairly closely to my own. I definitely recommend going for a little day trip on your bike to go around exploring the various places of Yashima Mountain. I did some more exploring this weekend and found some more “gems” in the area I’ll be posting about soon.

  2. Good to hear from you Dan, the traveler and philosopher. Thanks for taking the time to post interesting commentary and pictures.
    Love, gm

  3. Pingback: Awashima Adventure | Dan In Japan

Thoughts or comment?

