Bringing Thanksgiving to Japan

Well, hello everybody! I hope everybody survived their turkey comas and the ravenous consumerist crowds this Thanksgiving season. All I can say on that subject is, I feel terrible for my friend who works at Best Buy… May he rest in peace.

I actually woke up on Thanksgiving Day here in Japan without knowing it was actually Thanksgiving. Most people know it is coming because of school and work holidays and such. That, coupled with the fact that it is celebrated nationally in the U.S.A. helps to serve as a reminder to most. And if all else fails, usually people can guess when they wake up to mimosas and a bustling kitchen cooking things that people don’t eat for breakfast. Me however, held to my usual Thursday routine. Before I left for my class, I took a minute out of my time to check up on Facebook while drinking my coffee. That was when the floods of pre-Thanksgiving posts washed over me and it was then that I realized I had forgotten my champagne. With a slightly lonely but VERY fast trip to school (Felix left for Kyoto and left me the keys to his NICE road bike :), I began wondering what it was I should do. Do I sulk in my solo status as the lone American here in Takamatsu, or do I fight to uphold the values that Thanksgiving represents?

Once I had returned to the dorm, I decided I would do my best to replicate a somewhat standard Thanksgiving Day meal with the resources I had. I soon discovered that turkey won’t exist in Japan until next month for Christmas, which seems to be globally celebrated in a non-Christian context, like in America I suppose. So as consolation, I settled for chicken. Other things I decided on for my meal menu consisted of some green beans sautéed with garlic and red peppers, some garlic and butter mashed potatoes, pasta and some spiced up tomato sauce, bread rolls, and a salmon dish cooked by my friend Tamzeed. And of course, the meal wouldn’t have been complete without a couple bottles of red.

 

After an hour-and-a-half spent in the kitchen cooking with Tamzeed, we were ready to gather. Once we had assembled, we had six people: two friends from France, Thomas and Julien, one from China, Jiji, one from Korea, Nara, one from Bangladesh, Tamzeed, and finally myself, representing the red,white, and blue!

 

Resolution!

5 thoughts on “Bringing Thanksgiving to Japan

    • Mari,
      Thanks for stopping by and for deciding to keep tabs on my blog! …and you are correct. It is beautiful and I am thankful that I am lucky enough to live with such a diverse and awesome group of people. Even though none of us are from Japan, we’ve managed to carve out a little home for ourselves right in the middle of it.

      DIJ

Thoughts or comment?

