Final Hours

After nearly a full 12 months of planning, preparation, and dedication, it has come down to the last 36 hours. In less than two days, I will be embarking on the most exciting journey of my life…

 

October 2011. Toledo, Ohio.

It all started one morning when I woke up to find an e-mail from the office of the Dean of Engineering at the school I attend, The University of Toledo. It had come to his attention that I have an interest in Japan and had been studying the Japanese language. He wanted to meet to discuss an internship opportunity. I go, he interviews me, and after everything is all said and done, he puts me in contact with a Professor from Kagawa University in Takamatsu, Japan. After meeting with him, I realize that I have found exactly what I was looking for. A possibility to get my required co-op credits for my Civil degree, while simultaneously pursuing my other goal of acquiring a Japanese minor! 

Since then, it’s been a flurry of e-mails being sent back and forth, documents being prepped, signed, scanned, altered, signed and scanned again, mailed, signed and sent back… information being gathered and tendered, certificates being acquired, referral letters being requested, and so on until finally, as of September 14th, everything was ready and approved, and I was given the green light for travel. 

After getting through such a strong maelstrom of bureaucratic systems and procedures successfully, it feels somewhat surreal. So much so, that even with only 36 hours to go, it still doesn’t feel real. Even after working 50 hour weeks all summer at two jobs while sleeping on my mom’s couch to save money, it hasn’t quite hit me yet.

So now, here I am, recounting the steps I’ve taken to get to these final hours…

I CANNOT WAIT!

Stay tuned for further developments as I touch down into this foreign land in the second largest city in the country, Osaka!

5 thoughts on “Final Hours

  1. The culture shock of going over will be overwhelming…enjoy it! The return culture shock? That’s the one that catches you off guard! Travel safely…enjoy!

Thoughts or comment?

